Livestream sponsored by ServerPress and DesktopServer

This week on WPwatercooler we’ll be answering a viewers email about where to begin and best practices.

Mark Nottingham writes:

As someone who is learning WordPress, HTML, CSS and trying to learn some PHP to develop my own websites, I am interested in what you folk at WPWatercooler use in the main to develop your own sites and themes. I am guessing that you need to know HTML and CSS inside out, but what about PHP considering that WordPress is based on it? What about JavaScript, Jquery? Also what is your work process? Do you start with a Photoshop mock up and transfer that to web? Or do you just go straight to a theme? I would love to hear what you think.

We’ll see how much of this we can get though to get his questioned answered.

Show airs Aug 10 at 11am PDT / 2pm EDT / 7PM UTC

 

Software

Photoshop
Agile Design
Styletiles
Balsamiq
Invision
Coda2
Sublime
Dreamweaver
Aptana studio 3
PHP Storm
DesktopServer

Online Learning

Codecademy
w3schools
Learn PHP
Learn HTML
Learn CSS
Learn jQuery
Lynda
Treehouse
codepen.io
CSS Tricks

Books

Professional WordPress: Design and Development 3rd Edition
WordPress for Dummies
jQuery for Designers

Other Resources

Meetup.com
wordpress.org
wordpress.tv
codex.wordpress.org
Heisenberg Theme
Pragmatic Programmer in WordPress

 

[LISTATTENDEES event_identifier=”ep-148-coding-and-the-design-process-aug-10-2015-5-55c7b77c0f58a” show_gravatar=”true”]

YouTube Generated Transcription

There is one comment

Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *